Electoral Information

Add to favourites

2019 Election

Triennial elections for elected members of local authorities throughout New Zealand, including Stratford, are to be conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 12 October 2019.
The elections will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Stratford District Council.


Elections will be required for the following positions:

  • Mayor (elected ‘at large’)
  • Councillors (10)
  • Rural Ward (4)
  • Urban Ward (6)
  • Taranaki Regional Council Member (1 member elected from the Stratford Constituency)
  • Horizons Regional Council Member  (1 member elected from the Ruapehu Constituency)
  • Taranaki District Health Board Members ( 7 members elected ‘ at large’)


Nominations for the above positions will open on Friday 19 July 2019 and close at noon on Friday 16 August 2019.

Nomination papers will be available during this period:

  • from Council’s Administration Building, 61 – 63 Miranda Street, Stratford
  • by accessing www.Stratford.govt.nz
  • by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate must be:

  • a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); and
  • enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
  • nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

Detailed candidate information handbooks are available from Council’s Administration Building, 61 – 63 Miranda Street; Stratford District Library, Prospero Place, Stratford or can be downloaded below:

Candidate Information Handbook

More information

Further information on the election is available below:

 2019 Fact Sheet 

2019 Frequently Asked Questions

Ratepayer Roll

If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll.

Ratepayer enrolment forms can be found here.

2016 Local Authority Elections

The 2016 Local Authority elections took place on 8 October.

The declared results can be found here.

A schedule showing the percentage of voter returns by day can be found here.

Quick Links

 Electoral Commission